Game designing writing advice and connections

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Tariq Thunder, Aug 31, 2017.

1. Tariq Thunder

Tariq Thunder New Member

I am a young college student studying the ways of game design. I am bad at drawing and wish to write the narrative, narrative design, and learn to program and code. I wish to extend my arms from New York and meet other designs who wishes to show the world the art of our medium. Any or all advice for me in my stride is well appreciated because I want the world to see that games can save lives and can show the world a more clean way of settling conflict. I want to use games because games shape the youth and only the youth can be the world's saving grace. By learning how to be better myself I can help make a great change. Please. I want to become and study game design and make my weakness my strengths. Thank you for your kindness and time to read my tread.

2. Bob Shelline

Bob Shelline Well-Known Member

Hey, welcome! Do you have some programming experience already? Are you looking for tips on how to teach yourself programming? As far as narrative goes, these forums tend to be focused much more on the strategic mechanics of games, so you'll find plenty of great discussion on those topics.

3. Tariq Thunder

Tariq Thunder New Member

No I do not. The only experience is the baby steps from Mousetrap and what I an goning to learn this current school semester.

4. SwiftSpear

SwiftSpear Active Member

Don't let the system designers on this forum convince you narrative design is a lesser goal than system design. I would recommend learning some programming, even if you fall out of game design it's likely to be useful down the road.

5. Bob Shelline

Bob Shelline Well-Known Member